OK, my bad, sorry Vic

Giant fans are complicated.  Generally, we have a high baseball IQ and can be a little mean when things are not going our way.

So please consider the context before you judge what I did during yesterday’s game.  I made the mistake of bringing a Red Sox fan to the game.  Yeah, I know, what was I thinking?  Anyway, as the gum scrapping that passed for a baseball game went along, I was a little on the glum, bitter side while my friend was happy about just about everything. 

Enter Victor Martinez.  On a foul ball by the Panda, he got caught on the thumb of his left hand, then the ball richocheted off and got his foot.  So he came limping out from behind the plate, shaking his hand and hobbling on the bad wheel.  That’s when the bitter fan in me revealed himself, bellowing out, at the top of my lungs no less, MRI!  MRI!  MRI!

Some up in the upper deck in Giants gear had a little smile, a chuckle, something like that.  The Sox fans had a much different reaction, as you could imagine.  Glares, stares, a few birds flipped in my direction and some interesting thoughts on my family lineage.  The Boston fans were already a little edgy with two starters, Pedroia and Bucholtz, going down the previous two days. 

Now, I have nothing against Victor.  I’m sure he is a nice man with a nice family and I am sure his mother loves him.  I would not wish ill on him in a million years, they just got me at my bitter-bill worst. 

So, I am truly sorry Mr. Martinez.  I hope the thumb is no more than a bruise. 

But Jon Lester can go &%$#(&%> himself! 

Leave a comment